Cunningham Family Perpetual Trophy

The Story of the Award

The Cunningham family emigrated from Ireland to Canada in 1968.  It is here in the Tri-City area that George, his wife Laura, and their two daughters Beverly and Georgia set up their home and established their business. Their love of Irish dance and its music began back in Derry where Laura studied dancing at the DeGlin School of Irish Dance.  Fifty years later her passion has been passed on to her youngest grandchild Julianne, who followed in her footsteps and studied under the guidance of June Butler and Rose Fearon.

They are honoured to support Irish dancing in the Tri-Cities with a perpetual trophy presented in their name.

Past Winners:

1999 Colin Wright, Butler Academy

2000 Daniel Pinto, McGinley

2001 Alex Johnston, Goggin

2002 Patrick Daly, Butler-Fearon

2003 Patrick Daly, Butler-Fearon

2004 Sean Laffan, Butler Fearon O'Connor

2005 Cian Gavin, Butler Fearon O'Connor

2006 Mike Newman, Reaney Academy

2007 Bobby Lawn, Butler Fearon O'Connor

2008 Lauren Crawford, Goggin Carroll

2009 Kelly-Anne Cote, Butler Fearon O'Connor

2010 Sarah Weese, Goggin Carroll

2011 Alexandra Pearce, Butler Fearon O'Connor

2012 Laura O'Kane, Kelly School

2013 Shannon Sinclair, Woodgate Shamrock

2014 Erin Murray, Goggin Carroll

2015 Meaghan Legary, Goggin Carroll

2016 Andrea Espinola, Goggin-Carroll